The city first became part of Bulgaria in 812 under the reign of Khan Krum, and at that time its name was changed to Nessebar.
The most triving era was between 12th and 13th century when there was an intense construction and creation of some of the model churches of the period, such as St. Stephan, St, John the Baptist, and St. Paraskeva. Active trade links were developed with the Mediterranean and Adriatic lands as well as with the kingdoms in the north of Danube.
In the 14th century, the Ottomans captured Nessebar, and for the next five centuries, the city continued its construction and development though. Since ancient times, the city has been famous for its two main ports – the northern one and the southern one.
Nesebar was one of the first places where the coins were made. Bronze and silver coins were minted here in the 5th century BC and gold coins in the 3rd century BC. This was very important for the evolution of the monetary system and revival of the trade.
The different stages of construction and development of the residential vernacular architecture in Nesebar reflect the stages of development of the architectural style on the Balkans and in the entire East Mediterranean region. The urban structure contains elements from the second millennium BC, from Ancient Times and the Medieval period.
Nessebar is also the cultural treasury of Bulgaria. In 1956 it was declared “a museum town, an archaeological, and architectural reserve.” Because of its unique historic value and natural location, it was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1983.